Skip to main content

Armstrong Campus Info

Parking Appeals Summary Meeting: February 16, 2018

  • Appeals heard: 23
  • Upheld: 16
  • Tied 3
  • Pending Med Doc 1
  • Appealed 3
Armstrong State University strives to ensure a safe place for students, faculty and staff to learn, work and live. There are policies and regulations regarding parking on campus that the members of the university are required to abide. The University Police enforce these rules as well as all State of Georgia traffic and parking statutes.

  • All persons operating a vehicle on university property shall be properly licensed and the vehicle shall be properly insured.
  • Pedestrians have the right of way on campus, except where traffic is regulated by traffic signals or police officers.
  • The maximum speed on university streets is 20 MPH and the maximum speed in university parking lots is 10 MPH. Vehicles may not operate at any speed that is excessive for conditions, such as weather, traffic congestion, and the presence of pedestrians.
  • Operating a motor vehicle in any area other than a street or roadway intended for motor vehicles is prohibited.
  • All accidents occurring on campus shall be reported to the University Police immediately.
  • ID cards and operator licenses shall be presented when requested by University Police or University Officials.
  • Excessive noise such as that created by musical instruments, stereos, loud speakers, faulty or loud mufflers, or squealing tires is prohibited.
  • Operators who commit moving traffic violations may be cited with a university citation that carries a $50 fine, or they may be cited with a state citation that requires a court appearance in Recorder’s Court.

Moving Traffic Violations

Moving traffic violations are violations of the Georgia Traffic Code and not university regulations.

When a student is stopped for a minor moving violation on campus by a University Police Officer, the officer can choose to issue a university ticket rather than a State Traffic Citation for some violations.

When a University Police Officer issues a State Traffic Citation, the defendant must appear in state court at the date and time set by the officer. The defendant is then afforded all due process rights guaranteed by the U.S. Constitution. The defendant may request a trial and may offer evidence as well as confront the officer during testimony.

When a University Police Officer issues a university ticket for a minor moving violation, the student may pay a set fine to the University, which is normally $50, for the violation. The advantage of this procedure is the student does not have to contend with court appearances and the possibility of large fines, as well as points on his/her driver’s license and increased insurance premiums. For example, a stop sign violation would cost $50 if a University ticket was issued. If a State Traffic Citation was issued, the violation potentially could cost $200, add 2 points to the driver’s license, and require at least one appearance at the court in downtown Savannah.

If a student pays the university ticket, then she/he is voluntarily waiving their due process rights.

Campus Specific Policies


Last updated: 3/13/2018